movie coverI'd rather be watching TV![IMDB link] [Netflix link]

PLOT SUMMARY: Ace Ventura goes to Africa. The alternate title of the movie pretty much sums up the entire plot.

UNCOMFORTABLE PLOT SUMMARY (inspired by this): [highlight for spoilers] Raccoon-killing, car-destroying, Buddhist-annoying crazy man saves albino bat and foils rich assholes, yet still fails to win the hearts of violent savages.

PEOPLE: Jim Carrey (of course). Ian McNeice (From Hell). Smaller parts by Simon Callow, Bob Gunton (the warden in Shawshank Redemption, Greg The Bunny, 24), Sophie Okonedo (Sithandra in the live-action Aeon Flux movie), and Bruce Spence (who I instantly recognized as The Gyro Captain/Jebediah from Mad Max 2 and Mad Max 3, and who later played the mouth of Sauron in the Lord Of The Rings movies).

QUIRKS: Africa, Africa, Africa.

SOUNDTRACK: Did not notice that White Zombie was in the soundtrack…

MORALS: The rich suck.

BAD STUFF: It’s just not as funny as the first one.

CONCLUSION: Certainly an entertaining movie with a few laughs, but it definitely doesn’t live up to the original… And feels a bit dated as well.

RATINGS:
Clint: Netflix: 3/5 stars. IMDB: 6/10. Generic pass. Really, I’d rate this 5.75/10 if I could.
Carolyn: Netflix: 3/5 stars. IMDB: 6/10. She initially wanted to rate it 7/10, but said the 1st one was funny. Then I informed her she only rated the 1st one 6/10, so she downgraded.
The native public rating for this movie is Netflix: 3.4/5 stars (3.2/5 stars for people who rate like me), IMDB: 5.5/10.

RECOMMENDATION: If you saw Ace Ventura 1 and want more… Here’s more. It’s not as good. But that’s true for most sequels.

SIMILAR MOVIES: We will NOT be attempting to watch Ace Ventura Jr. (2009).

MOVIE QUOTE: Ace: “Yes, [I ascertained that you are] a workaholic: The urine stain on your pants would signify that you’re a single shake man, far too busy for a follow up jiggle.”

Ace: “If you were me, then I’d be you, and I’d use *your* body to get to the top. You can’t stop me no matter who you are!”

FRIENDS’ RATINGS: Benj liked it.

Mood: now to start again… I wonder what number they are up to now?
Music: Pixies – Vamos (live)