movie coverI'd rather be watching TV![IMDB link] [Netflix link]

UNCOMFORTABLE PLOT SUMMARY (inspired by this): [highlight for spoilers] Messing with the malt liquor supply leads to complications.

PEOPLE: Starring Michael Jai White, who had some bit parts in The Toxic Avenger 2 & 3, and was Spawn in the Spawn movie. With Arsenio Hall, Tommy Davidson (In Living Color, Ace Ventura 2, Plump Fiction), and many other familiar faces.

QUIRKS: A complete parody of old Blaxploitation films. I never really was a fan of such films — but only because they were too old. I love me a good B-movie, and this movie is basically an A-movie pretending to be a B-movie. As in, they purposely made “mistakes” as a tribute to the old Blaxploitation and Grindhouse style movies.

VISUALS: A 2009 movie that deliberately looks like something out of the 1970s (or thereabouts).

MORALS: Don’t mess with Black Dynamite!

BAD STUFF: Some people might dislike “purposeful cheeziness”.

CONCLUSION: Freakin’ hilarious!! A great spoof comedy.

RATINGS:
Clint: Netflix: 4/5 stars. IMDB: 8/10. Very tempting to give this 5 stars, but in the end, I felt it only a 4-star movie, even though it was rather perfect in meeting its goals.
Carolyn: Netflix: 3/5 stars. IMDB: 7/10.

The native public rating for this movie is: IMDB: 7.5/10 (strangely the average of both our ratings), Netflix: 3.8/5 stars. However, Netflix‘s predicted rating for us was 4.6/5 stars!

RECOMMENDATION: Definitely a good comedy worth seeing!

SIMILAR MOVIES: The Grindhouse double-feature (Death Proof, Planet Terror) is definitely somewhat similar to this in goal and delivery.

MOVIE QUOTE: Black Dynamite: First Lady, I’m sorry I pimp slapped you into that china cabinet.

Black Dynamite: Ha-ha! I threw that shit before I walked in the room!

Black Dynamite: Ain’t nothin’ in the world get Black Dynamite more mad than some jive ass sucka dealin’ smack to the kids!

Black Dynamite: As he laid there, flat on his face, he looked up at me. His little Chinese eyes burnin’ right into my stomach, deep into my soul. He said somethin’ to me in Chinese like, “Boo coo sow!” sounded like some cartoon shit. But I understood it to be a question that he was askin’ me. And I don’t have to know how to speak Chinese to know what that question was. “Why, Black Dynamite? Why?”

FRIENDS’ RATINGS: Heather & Joe really liked it, and recommended it. Josh Turnquist plugged it: “You will not regret it. And you will laugh your PANTS off! Picture Napoleon D. meets Shaft where the hero is solid and more successful with the ladies. Can you dig it?” OutlawVern also reviewed it.

Mood: accomplished
Music: Voivod – Drift