movie coverI'd rather be watching TV![IMDB link] [Netflix link]

UNCOMFORTABLE PLOT SUMMARY (inspired by this): [highlight for spoilers] Drug-addict detective pushes friends away, solves mystery

PEOPLE: Directed by Guy Ritchie (Snatch, Lock, Stock, And Two Smoking Barrels). Starring Robert Downey Jr. (Iron Man, Tropic Thunder, A Scanner Darkly, Wonder Boys, The Incredible Hulk, Natural Born Killers, Less Than Zero), Jude Law (A.I., I Heart Huckabees, The Aviator, The Imaginarium Of Doctor Parnassus, Road To Perdition, Lemony Snicket in Lemony Snicket’s A Series Of Unfortunate Events, eXistenZ, Gattaca), and Rachel McAdams (The Time Traveler’s Wife, Wedding Crashers, Mean Girls, The Hot Chick). Main bad guy played by Mark Strong (Septimus from Stardust, Sunshine, Syriana).

QUIRKS: Based on a book (DUH!). First Sherlock Holmes movie in America in 20+ yrs. There will be a sequel.

VISUALS: They did a good job setting a movie in the 1800s. And greatly stylized closing credits, FWIW.

BAD STUFF: No cocaine use. Sherlock Holmes was in intravenous cocaine user! That’s part of his character. That’s why he’s so hyped up, observing everything in a manic fashion. He also occasionally uses morphine. But of course our “drugs are bad” culture, despite using more drugs than any other culture, combined with capitalism dictating that everything must go down the makes-most-money route, means that difficult messages that might cause parents to not take their kids to the movies are whitewashed out. Sherlock Holmes is great, but please don’t cast a Pleasantville (and I’m talking about the black and white part) vibe over everything America, kthxbye.

Well, actually, they did mention it, but only in such a subtle way that I didn’t even notice: Watson’s line to Holmes: “You know that what you’re drinking is for eye surgery.” Still, it should have been more obvious that Holmes’s success has nothing to do with sobriety; he’s all hopped up while solving mysteries!

Also, the sound mix seemed inferior, but that could have just been my particular situation.

CONCLUSION: A good action mystery! Good fight scenes too!

RATINGS:
Carolyn: Netflix: 4/5 stars. IMDB: 7.6/10. A low 8/10, basically. “I feel like it was a good movie, but there were times when I found my attention had faltered… so it didn’t keep me gripped 100% of the time… so I thought I should detract for that. but maybe that was just my mindset at the time, and that was why I was easily distracted. :)”

Clint: Netflix: 4/5 stars. IMDB: 8/10. Carolyn might be right about it only being a 7.6/10, but I’m going to go with 8/10 because I don’t feel like thinking about it :)

The native public rating for this movie is: IMDB: 7.5/10, Netflix: 3.7/5 stars (Netflix‘s predicted rating for us was 4.2/5 stars–correct!).

RECOMMENDATION: Definitely worth seeing!

SIMILAR MOVIES: There will be a sequel in 2011!

MOVIE QUOTE: Sherlock Holmes: “As to the mystery, the only mystery is why you bothered… to blindfold me at all.”

Music: Danzig – When Death Had No Name