movie coverI'd rather be watching TV![IMDB link] [Netflix link]

PLOT SUMMARY: A spoof-genre comedy primarily making fun of The 40 Year Old Virgin, Knocked Up, Superbad, and Forgetting Sarah Marshall. Yes, they are spoofing movies that are already comedies. Which sort of defeats the point. I mean, obviously anyone watching this knows in advance that it’s not going to be anywhere near as good as those 4 movies. So people complaining heavily about this movie as if they had no clue it was going to be the way it turned out to be are a bit silly for not realizing that this might not be worth watching. Me? I’m good at setting expectations. [See CONCLUSION, below.]

UNCOMFORTABLE PLOT SUMMARY (inspired by this): [highlight for spoilers] 41 yrs of cum built-up spurts into your face at the end.

PEOPLE: Some of the people they chose were funny: They didn’t just spoof movies, they spoofed the actors as well.

Steven Sims played Jonah, an obvious Jonah Hill parody. In fact, he created a show called Destroying Jonah Hill, where his attempt is to besmirch Jonah Hill‘s name so that he can have his own success instead of living in his shadow. He looks like Jonah Hill that much. But maybe with a 5% less I-want-to-punch-you-in-the-face factor.

Stephen Kramer Glickman did a decent job playing Seth, an obvious Seth Green Rogan parody. Not nearly as good as Steven Sims as Jonah Hill, but still. You could tell right away who he was parodying.

Bryan Callen played the main character. He’s been in The Hangover, Old School, Scary Movie 4, MadTV, How I Met Your Mother, 7th Heaven.

QUIRKS: Spoof-genre movie. Lots of poor re-creations of already-seen scenes. But done without any tact, and with far less creativity. I’m a fan of gross humor, and hate when people say “they just go for the easy gross humor”. But in this case, they really are doing it because it’s the easy way out. For once, I agree with the detractors of gross humor. (The grossness is still kinda funny, though.)

McAnalovin’?

VISUALS: The girls were hot. Especially Noureen DeWulf, who looked better in the movie than her IMDB pictures. Maybe we’ll see her in National Lampoon’s Pledge This at some point in the future.

BAD STUFF: Kind of disgusting at points. And a bit pointless. Some of the jokes were pretty bad. Even some jokes I’d heard before — I mean, a guy farting when he meets his love, getting embarrassed, and then the girl farts too so now everything’s okay. I feel like I’ve seen that in like 5 movies already.

Definitely not a top tier spoof movie. I still laughed out loud, but Carolyn didn’t as much.

Some of the negative comments on the IMDB forum were pretty funny. “Mass suicide on release date? Who’s in?” “This can’t end well.” “Dude, this can’t *start* well.” “If this succeeds, I hope the Chinese invade us and take us over.”

CONCLUSION: I expected to howl out loud a few times while thinking most of the jokes were lame — and that’s about what I got. Though I had no clue it would disgust me so much that I had to look away from the screen multiple times. That’s a difficult accomplishment.

RATINGS:
Clint: Netflix: 2.6/5 stars. IMDB: 5.6/10. Basically, as low of a generic pass as humanly possible.
Carolyn: Netflix: 2/5 stars. IMDB: 4/10. Not passing.

The native public rating for this movie is: Netflix: 3.2/5 stars. IMDB does not yet have a rating at the time of writing this, but it surely will by the time this is posted only rates this 2.8/10. Wowie.

RECOMMENDATION: Unless you are a spoof-genre comedy movie completist, stay away from this.

SIMILAR MOVIES: Date Movie. Epic Movie. Meet The Spartans. My Big Fat Independent Movie. That is, the worse half of spoof-genre movies. If you want a good one, go watch Not Another Teen Movie, Scary Movie, or even Totally Awesome if you love the 1980s.

Hmm, I never did see Shriek If You Know What I Did Last Friday The Thirteenth.

Hmm, maybe they should have just called this Comedy Movie?

Music: Ween – She’ll Just Get You