I'd rather be watching TV![IMDB link] [Not available on Netflix.]

PLOT SUMMARY: A grief-stricken dysfunctional family goes camping.

PEOPLE: It’s a Danish film, so nobody anyone here would know. The director is literally a bitch.

QUIRKS: Camping! Most of this movie takes place at a big communal campsite. Reminds me of Brushwood Folklore Center.

The fat  son reminds me of Ubuntu from The Goode Family.

VISUALS: Camping.

MORALS: Uh… If your dad shoots himself in the head, don’t stop doing fun things because you feel all depressed.

BAD STUFF: The whole movie. How utterly pointless. Billed as a comedy/drama, but really it’s just a shitty drama.

My favorite part was when they showed the camper driving into the campsite. “It looks like Brushwood! X-Day is only a month away! [as of the time of writing this, 6/2010]”. The rest of the movie? Quite awful actually. Slow, pointless drama. I assume the characters are going through some sort of introspective transformation, but we’re never really told what is going on in their head.

As usual, any movie with someone writing a book in it is awful. Just something I’ve noticed. They try to ascribe all this fake profundity on the writings of the writer, but in the end, the few bits of her writing that were “read” in the movie just made me hate everything that much more.

CONCLUSION: Crap.

RATINGS:
Clint: Netflix: 2/5 stars. IMDB: 4/10.

Carolyn: Netflix: 3/5 stars. IMDB: 6/10. I asked her to submit a few words on why she didn’t think it sucked, and she didn’t really have any reasons or response to offer.

The native public rating for this movie is: IMDB: 5.5/10.

RECOMMENDATION: Tip: Don’t procure foreign movies based on one word titles that happen to be something you like. Then again, I procured Young People Fucking explicitly because of the title, and that movie ruled. But it wasn’t foreign. Thus, I’m saying that this rule only applies to FOREIGN movies. Why? No reason; that’s just my personal experience. My rules for movie procurement have changed. I won’t make this mistake again (hopefully).

Music: KMFDM – Glory (War & Slavery Mix)