I'd rather be watching TV![IMDB link]

RATINGS:
Clint: Netflix: 5/5 stars. IMDB: 8/10.
Carolyn: Netflix: 4/5 stars. IMDB: 8/10.
The native public rating for this movie is: Netflix: 3.6/5 stars, IMDB: 7.4/10.

CAROLYN’S THOUGHTS: I had never seen this as a kid. I didn’t watch that many scary movies, so I didn’t see a lot of the classics such as The Exorcist and Poltergeist. This was awesome and definitely worth watching. I definitely understand how some kids can be traumatized by it, though! I probably would have been one of them since I was very sensitive to that type of stuff. For instance, we had a Halloween party once, and my babysitter stuffed newspapers into some clothes and put the “headless body” in the shower in the bathroom downstairs. Then after the party, nobody cleaned it up so it was just left there in the shower for months. One time, I had to get something from the garage and I got to the bottom of the stairs and bolted for the garage door, and I swore I heard newspapers rustling from the bathroom! I got into the garage, got the thing I was getting and bolted up the stairs so fast. I was so pathetic, and that was even without watching movies like Poltergeist to traumatize me.

CLINT’S THOUGHTS:

A classic for me, so 5 stars as I’ve always loved it.
It was interesting seeing it as an adult, and noticing things like, what?!?! The parents are potheads?!?! I don’t remember that!! Or if I did, I forgot!

No, the real treat here was getting to watch Carolyn watch the movie for the first time. And seeing it as an adult for the first time. It was a major retro drinking night for me. Good good times.

This is also the first movie that I’ve ever watched in 10-bit color. I can’t say I could necessarily tell the difference, but the color did look REALLY good. Of course, I’m watching 1080p in 2015 vs VHS in 1982. VHS is more like 360i than 1080p. So it was going to look a lto better anyway. There was a least a very nice placebo effect!

PEOPLE:

Directed by Tobe Hooper (The Texas Chainsaw Massacre movies, 1 ep of Tales From The Crypt).
Written by Steven Spielberg, Michael Grais (Cool World) & Mark Victor (Cool World).

Starring:
Craig T. Nelson (Coach in Coach, Blades Of Glory, Wag The Dog, The Devil’s Advocate, The Incredibles, Where The Buffalo Roam) as Steve Freeling.
JoBeth Williams (TiMER, 1 ep of Batman-TAS, 1 ep of 24) as Diane Freeling.
Beatrice Straight (1 ep of Faerie Tale Theatre) as Dr. Lesh, the paranormal psychologist doctor.
Dominique Dunne (1 ep of Hart To Hart, 1 ep of CHiPS) as Dana Freeling, the older daughter.
Oliver Robins (Airplane 2, 1 ep of The Twilight Zone) as Robbie Freeling, the son.
Heather O’Rourke (12 eps of Happy Days, 3 eps of Webster, 1 ep of CHiPS, 1 ep of Fantasy Island) as Carol Anne Freeling, the younger daughter.
Michael McManus (Police Academy 4, The Kentucky Fried Movie, 8 eps of Baywatch, 4 eps of Night Court, 2 eps of It’s Garry Shandling’s Show, 2 eps of Webster, 1 ep of Married With Children, 1 ep of Doogie Howser MD, 1 ep of Mr. Belvedere, 1 ep of Saved By The Bell, 1 ep of Coach) as Ben Tuthill, the neighbor.
Virginia Kiser (5 eps of Max Headroom, 1 ep of The Twilight Zone, 1 ep of CHiPS) as Mrs. Tuthill, the neighbor’s wife.
Zelda Rubinstein (Sixteen Candles, Pickett Fences, 1 ep of Caroline In The City, 1 ep of Tales From The Crypt) as Tangina, the paranormal expert.
James Karen (Mulholland Dr., The Return Of The Living Dead movies, 4 eps of The Larry Sanders Show, 1 ep of Seinfeld, 1 ep of American Dad, 1 ep of The Cleveland Show) as Mr. Teague, the boss.Music: Overkill – Death Tone